About the Macula Society

Founded in 1977, the Macula Society is a forum for new research in retinal vascular and macular diseases. Membership is by application, with acceptance criteria including extensive contribution to retinal literature. The Macula Society recognizes outstanding achievement by its members and others through awards and lectures, and holds an annual meeting open to members, their guests co-authors, and supporting company representatives.

41st Annual Macula Society Meeting
February 21-24, 2018 | Beverly Hills, California

Save The Date 
42nd Annual Macula Society 
Hyatt Regency- Coconut Point
Bonita Springs, Florida 
February 13-16, 2019


Member Login

AAO Eye Wiki
AAO Eye Wiki is an ophthalmic wiki where ophthalmologists, other physicians, patients and the public can view an eye encyclopedia of content written by ophthalmologists covering the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment. Any qualified ophthalmologist, or ophthalmologist in training, is invited to contribute content to the wiki and post it immediately. For content guidelines and more information see About EyeWiki and Getting Started. EyeWiki is a collaboration between the American Academy of Ophthalmology and these societies.

James C. Folk, MD

H. Richard McDonald, MD

Joan W. Miller, MD

Carol L. Shields, MD

Executive Secretary
Lawrence J.  Singerman, MD

Established 1977
Lawrence Singerman - Founder

Committee Chairs

M. Gilbert Grand, MD

By-Laws Chair
Ivana Kim, MD

Glenn J. Jaffe, MD

Meeting Planning
Peter K. Kaiser, MD

Jennifer I. Lim, MD

Srini Vas Sadda, MD

Research & Education
Richard F. Spaide, MD

Cynthia Toth, MD

AAO Representative
Michael J. Elman, MD

International Representative
Gabriel J. Coscas, MD

Young Member
R.V. Paul Chan, MD

Past Presidents

Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD
Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD
Neil M. Bressler, MD
Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD
Gil Grand, MD

Andrew P. Schachat, MD

Member News

Photo Gallery

Annual Meeting photo galleries from the 36th, 37th, 38th, 39th and 40th Macula Society Annual Meetings are avaliable.

Click here

Enter password: Macula

Participation at IntRIS 2018
""The International Retinal Imaging Symposium 2018 will take place on Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at the California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA and will feature a series of lectures that will focus on the latest developments in retinal imaging, including: adaptive optics, fundus autofluorescence, ultra-widefield imaging, spectral domain and swept source optical coherence tomography (OCT), and OCT angiography. This conference will include a full day of lectures by many of the world’s experts in retinal imaging who will speak on recent innovations that have occurred in this rapidly advancing field.
We welcome your participation at IntRIS 2018 which promises to provide insight and understanding in retinal imaging and showcase the integral importance of innovative retinal imaging in the evaluation and management of retinal disease.
Link to Register:
David Sarraf, M.D. K. Bailey Freund, M.D. Srinivas Sadda, M.D.

OCT Conference

Click on the below image for information on the Swept Source OCT Angiography Conference in Paris, February 16-17, 2018



Solar Retinopathy Survey by the Macula Society

The Macula Society is collecting cases from the Great American Solar Eclipse. Please click here to enter data and determine which imaging tests are ideal for this study.

Special Interest Group

The ICO is excited to let our  society members know about the formation of a new special interest group for ophthalmic educators, ICO Ophthalmic Educators Group (ICO-OEG). More information on the ICO-OEG is available here.

If you have any questions regarding this request please contact us directly at educators@icoph.org

Conference Management Software by X-CD Technologies Inc.