Member Login

Quick Links

AAO Eye Wiki

EyeWiki is an ophthalmic wiki where ophthalmologists, other physicians, patients and the public can view an eye encyclopedia of content written by ophthalmologists covering the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment. Any qualified ophthalmologist, or ophthalmologist in training, is invited to contribute content to the wiki and post it immediately. For content guidelines and more information see About EyeWiki and Getting Started . EyeWiki is a collaboration between the American Academy of Ophthalmology and these societies .

Quick Links

M. Gilbert Grand, MD
Andrew P. Schachat, MD
James C. Folk, MD
H. Richard McDonald, MD
Executive Secretary
Lawrence J.  Singerman, MD

Past Presidents

Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD

Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD

Neil M. Bressler, MD

Immediate Past President

Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD

Committee Chairs

Neil M. Bressler, MD

By-Laws Chair
Ivana Kim, MD

Karl Csaky, MD, PhD

Meeting Planning
Sophie J. Bakri, MD

G. Baker Hubbard, III, MD

Judy E. Kim, MD

Research and Education Chair
Richard F. Spaide, MD

Website Chair
Cynthia Toth, MD 

AAO Representative
Michael J. Elman, MD

International Member
Oh W. Kwon, MD

Young Member
David Sarraf, MD

Dear Macula Society International Members,

Anat Loewenstein, MD is Full Professor of Ophthalmology, Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Incumbent of the Sydney A. Fox Chair in Ophthalmology, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University, and Director of the Department of Ophthalmology, Tel Aviv Medical Center in Tel Aviv, Israel.

After medical studies at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem and residency in the Department of Ophthalmology at the Tel Aviv Medical Center, she completed fellowship in retina vascular diseases and vitreoretina surgery unit at the Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland.

Prof. Loewenstein's main areas of expertise are age-related macular degeneration, including early detection and treatment modalities, retinal vascular occlusion and investigation of drugs toxicity to the retina. She has been as well the leader behind the development of model technology for early detection of macular degeneration. With an impressive list of publications in peer reviewed journals and ophthalmology textbooks and being member of several national and international ophthalmological societies, she participates in numerous national and international meetings each year, frequently as an invited speaker.

Warm regards,
Anat Loewenstein, MD

Congratulations to Jenny Lim who initiated a collaborative effort among the Macula Society members. It was a retrospective study evaluating the visual and anatomic outcomes of PDT for CSR. Demographic, VA, OCT and FA data were entered online from a Macula Society survey sent to all members. Forty members contributed to the study that included 237 patients.

Bottom line, VA and other parameters showed positive effect of PDT on CSR.

Jenny will present the results at the upcoming Macula Society meeting in February 2013.

Thank you all on the behalf of Executive Board, and specifically to all the international members who participated:

J. Fernando Arevalo, Jennifer Arnold, Claudio Azzolini, Francesco Bandello, Francesco Boscia, Felice Cardillo Piccolino, Usha Chakravarthy, Wai Man Chan, Itay Chowers, Antonio Ciardella, Rogerio Costa, Alan Cruess, Michel Eid Farah, Alain Gaudric, Mark Gillies, Alfonso Giovannini, Simon Harding, Christos Haritoglou, Frank Holz, Oh Kwon, Timothy Lai, Paolo Lanzetta, Anita Leys, Anat Loewenstein, Andrew Lotery, Ian McDonald, Joseph Moisseiev, Maurizio Parodi, Ayala Pollack, Michael Potter, Siegfried Priglinger, Francisco Rodriguez, Mandeep Sagoo, Fumio Shiraga, Ruth Siegel, Eric Souied, Giovanni Staurenghi, Tien Wong, Yasuo Yanagi, Leonidas Zografos

Member News

 Macula Society Member: Joan W. Miller, M.D., FARVO Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

BOSTON -- Joan Whitten Miller, M.D., Henry Willard Williams Professor of Ophthalmology and Chair of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School (HMS), and Chief of Ophthalmology at Massachusetts Eye and Ear and Massachusetts General Hospital, has been elected to membership in the prestigious National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Dr. Miller is an internationally recognized expert on retinal disorders, including age-related macular degeneration (AMD), retinal degenerations, and diabetic retinopathy.  
Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the NAM?formerly named the Institute of Medicine?is a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. NAM serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering to “address critical issues in health, medicine and related policy and to inspire positive action across sectors.”  

Congratulations to  Dr. Gary E. Fish, a Macula Society member and The Macula Society nominee, who was selected as AAO's 2015 Academy's Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award recipient. Dr. Fish will be presented with this award at the 2015 AAO Meeting in Las Vegas.   

New Macula Society International Travel Grant

The Macula Society approved the proposal from the International
Committee to create “The International Travel Grant” for the young and
accomplished members. The purpose of this grant is to encourage
international members to attend the macula society meeting in US, and
US members to attend the macula society meeting out
of US.

This year the meeting is being held in US, so the Society will
choose international members. It will be our great pleasure and honor to have
the first recipients. The International Committee appreciates the strong and
endless support from all of the members of Macula Society.

Very truly,
Oh W Kwon

International Committee Chairperson

Member Dues
Please login to the left and pay your member dues.