Member Login


Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD
M. Gilbert Grand, MD
Andrew P. Schachat, MD
James C. Folk, MD
Executive Secretary
Lawrence J.  Singerman, MD

Past Presidents

Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD

Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD

Neil M. Bressler, MD
Immediate Past President

Committee Chairs

Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD

By-Laws Chair
SriniVas Sadda, MD

Karl Csaky, MD, PhD

Meeting Planning
Sophie J. Bakri, MD

G. Baker Hubbard, III, MD

Judy E. Kim, MD

Research and Education Chair
Jennifer I. Lim, MD

Website Chair
Mathew MacCumber, MD, PhD

AAO Representative
Michael J. Elman, MD

International Member
Oh W. Kwon, MD

Young Member
David Sarraf, MD

Member News

Member Dues
Please login to the left and pay your member dues.


PARIS - 2015

Click here for the 2015 Meeting

Macula Research Grants

Research Grant Overview

  1. We have $30,000 per year available to support research endeavors of the members of the Society.  Recognizing the increasing costs of conducting research and in an attempt to stimulate more interest in generating more applications while respecting the wishes of the Retina Research Foundation, it was agreed that we would fund one project each year for a higher amount rather than giving two grants at a lower amount. The ranking and funding of a proposal will be determined by the Research Committee depending on several criteria based upon (i) the project design (ii) the project feasibility (iii) the project significance and (iv) the project budget.  The ranking will then be presented to the Executive Committee and final funding approval determined.
  2. The due date for applications will be December 1, 2013 at 5  PM EST on the Macula Society web site.  These should be submitted on line to allow easy transmittal to the various research committee members.  The Macula Society Office will then disseminate the received applications to Committee members who will then evaluate and rank them and make recommendations to the Chair for funding.  These summaries will then be returned both to the Chair and Society secretary who will then tally these numerical scores from which the final recommendations will be made. The funds will be released in February of 2014 and the winner will be announced at the 2014 Annual Meeting.
  3. No member of the Executive Committee nor Research Committee may apply for this award during their time of service.
  4. Due to monetary restrictions, past Retina Research Foundation Award recipients are ineligible for this award. Please review the list posted on the Research application site. Members, Click here to login


Research Grant Recipients

Demetrios Vavvas, MD
Role of RIP3 Kinase in Inflammation and Photoreceptor Cell Loss

Kang Zhang, M.D.
Using AMD Patient iPSCs for RPE Differentiation and Disease Modeling

Amani Fawzi, M.D.
Platform for long-term Delivery of Anti-Angiogenic Peptides for Intravitreal Treatment of Neovascular Eye Disease


Milam A. Brantley, Jr., M.D., PhD.
Small molecule-mediated differential expression of HTRA1 and ARMS2 to elucidate gene function in AMD


Stephen Tsang, MD, PhD
Genetic and Environmental Factors in AMD

Click here for a link to the report on youtube.


Stephen Jae Kim, MD
Safety, Pharmacokinetics, and Efficacy of Celecoxib and Valdecoxib after Intraocular Administration for Macular Edema



J. William Harbour, MD
Development of a blood test to diagnose uveal melanoma



Rajendra S. Apte, MD
Wnt Signaling in Choroidal Neovascularization


Lloyd P. Aiello, MD
Treatment with Oral Rosiglitazone to Prevent the Progression of Diabetic Retinopathy in eyes at high risk of developing proliferative disease



Paul Sternberg, MD
Plasma proinflammatory biomarkers in patients with age-related macular degeneration


Jose Pulido, MD
Activation State fo Immune Cells in the Human Choriod