Member Login

AAO Eye Wiki

AAO Eye Wiki is an ophthalmic wiki where ophthalmologists, other physicians, patients and the public can view an eye encyclopedia of content written by ophthalmologists covering the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment. Any qualified ophthalmologist, or ophthalmologist in training, is invited to contribute content to the wiki and post it immediately. For content guidelines and more information see About EyeWiki and Getting Started. EyeWiki is a collaboration between the American Academy of Ophthalmology and these societies.


Andrew P. Schachat, MD

James C. Folk, MD

H. Richard McDonald, MD

Joan W. Miller, MD

Executive Secretary
Lawrence J.  Singerman, MD

Established 1977
Lawrence Singerman - Founder

Committee Chairs

Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD

By-Laws Chair
Ivana Kim, MD

Glenn J. Jaffe, MD

Meeting Planning
Peter K. Kaiser, MD

G. Baker Hubbard, III, MD

Judy E. Kim, MD

Research & Education
Richard F. Spaide, MD

Cynthia Toth, MD

AAO Representative
Michael J. Elman, MD

International Representative
Gabriel J. Coscas, MD

Young Member
R.V. Paul Chan, MD

Past Presidents

Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD
Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD
Neil M. Bressler, MD
Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD
Gil Grand, MD

Below is important information and dates to remember for the 2017 Macula Society Meeting in Singapore.

40th Anniversary Macula Society Meeting
June 7-10, 2017
Shangri- La Hotel, Singapore

Important Dates to remember

  • September 19, 2016 -2017 Macula Society Member meeting registration site opens
  • September 19, 2016- 2017 Macula Society Supporter meeting registration site opens
  • January 2, 2017- 2017 Meeting Abstract Submission Site opens
  • January 15, 2017- 1st Early Bird Meeting Registration Deadline
  • February 13, 2017- Second call for 2017 meeting abstracts
  • March 3, 2017- 2017 meeting abstract submission deadline
  • March 20, 2017- All support logos and information for mobile APP due
  • April 2, 2017- Members notified of accepted abstracts
  • April 14, 2017- 2nd Early Bird meeting Registration Deadline
  • April 15, 2017- 2017 Meeting Program Site is live
  • April 15, 2017- Deadline for sponsor commitment to be recognized and artwork received for promotional book
  • May 5, 2017- Deadline for registering sponsor representatives
  • May 5, 2017- Deadline for full refund for cancelled meeting registration
  • June 6, 2017- Deadline for 50% refund for cancelled meeting registration; NO refund after June 6, 2017
  • June 7-10, 2017- Macula Society 40th Anniversary meeting, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

39th Annual Macula Society Meeting
Miami Beach, Florida

February 24-27, 2016
Levels of Meeting Support


We gratefully acknowledge our supporting companies



Major Meeting Sponsor



Emerald Patron















Congratulations to Sophie Bakri, MD – for completing her participation as the Macula Society’s nominee in the Academy’s Leadership Development Program (LDP) XVIII, class of 2016.

Congratulations to member Rajesh C. Rao, M.D., recipient of the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI) Young Physician-Scientist Award. The award recognizes young physician-scientists who are supported by NIH K or similar significant career-development awards, are early in their first faculty appointment, and have made notable achievements in their research. 

Annual Meeting Gallery

Web galleries from the 36th, 37th, 38th, and 39th Macula Society Annual Meetings are avaliable.

Click here: 

Enter the password: Macula