Member Login

Quick Links

AAO Eye Wiki

EyeWiki is an ophthalmic wiki where ophthalmologists, other physicians, patients and the public can view an eye encyclopedia of content written by ophthalmologists covering the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment. Any qualified ophthalmologist, or ophthalmologist in training, is invited to contribute content to the wiki and post it immediately. For content guidelines and more information see About EyeWiki and Getting Started . EyeWiki is a collaboration between the American Academy of Ophthalmology and these societies .

Quick Links

M. Gilbert Grand, MD
Andrew P. Schachat, MD
James C. Folk, MD
H. Richard McDonald, MD
Executive Secretary
Lawrence J.  Singerman, MD

Past Presidents

Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD

Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD

Neil M. Bressler, MD

Immediate Past President

Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD

Committee Chairs

Neil M. Bressler, MD

By-Laws Chair
Ivana Kim, MD

Karl Csaky, MD, PhD

Meeting Planning
Sophie J. Bakri, MD

G. Baker Hubbard, III, MD

Judy E. Kim, MD

Research and Education Chair
Richard F. Spaide, MD

Website Chair
Cynthia Toth, MD 

AAO Representative
Michael J. Elman, MD

International Member
Oh W. Kwon, MD

Young Member
David Sarraf, MD

The Membership of The Macula Society


Click here for a sample the membership form. Please review the requirements for your application prior to submitting.

2015 New Members

Membership Application

The Macula Society Credentialing Committee welcomes your application to our society. Our mission is to promote research and publication in macular and retinal vascular diseases. The purpose of this letter is to clarify what we (the Society and specifically the Credentialing Committee) are looking for in new member applications.

We have a directive from the Executive Committee on the competitive criteria for membership. These criteria do not ensure admission; rather, these criteria provide a basis for selecting our future membership from the best possible applicant pool.

The bylaws of the Macula Society mandate the following for Active Members:

1.MD degree, license to practice medicine, and Board certified (ABO) or the equivalent of these requirements from countries outside the US.
2.Retina fellowship training (at least 1 year).
3.At least 2 years in post-fellowship practice (>50% of time devoted to diseases of the posterior segment).
4.Authorship as first or corresponding author of 2 or more publications on posterior segment diseases that have been published within the preceding 4 years in refereed, peer review journals.
5.Recommendation letters by 2 active members of the Society.
6.Some candidates for membership who have made major contributions in the field may be admitted without fulfilling these criteria.

Applicants are ranked by the Credentialing Committee according to a point system that is specific for each criterion and evaluates the following: (Please submit credentials and letters in English, in a well-organized manner).

1.Organization of the curriculum vitae is important.
2.List years of post-residency training. Included in this category is any academic ranking or position that represents commitment to an academic mission of research or training (1-10 points)
3.List years of practice after fellowship. Included in this category is the institution of record for fellowship training (1-5 points).
4.List peer-reviewed publications (Do not include manuscripts that are 'submitted', no value will be attributed to non-peer reviewed work). Articles 'in-press' are acceptable as long as revisions are not pending. Priority is given to publications in journals with high impact factors. Additionally, priority is given to major articles, then case series, and less priority to single case reports. Finally, first or senior authorship is given priority. Electronic versions of the top 2 articles should be included in the application (i.e. PDF format) (1-10 points).
5.Grant support, especially for independent research (i.e. RO-1), is highly valued and should be specifically highlighted. Other forms of grant support, such as clinical trials, are also valued. Identify the source of the funding (i.e. NIH) (1-10 points).
6.Letters of recommendation (in English) need to be received by the review deadline. These letters should include examples of achievements of academic value accomplished by the applicant and qualifications of the candidate that would further the mission statement of the Macula Society (1-10 points)
7.List service work to the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) or to State Societies. This work is also valued and should be specified (1-10 points)

Each member of the Credentialing Committee assigns points for each of the criterion for every applicant and the total points are summed and a rank list is generated for the applicants. Following discussions, acceptance letters are sent out to the highest ranked applicants.

Affiliate Members:
1.Persons, other than practicing physicians, whose primary interest is in the basic scientific disciplines related to the purpose of the Society.
2.Authorship of at least 2 publications on posterior segment diseases that have been published within the preceding 4 years in a refereed, peer reviewed journal.

A current Macula Society member may only write one letter of recommendation a year, If they wrote on behalf of an applicant that did not get accepted last year and is re- applying this year that counts as their one letter for this current year.

We look forward to reviewing your application for membership in the Macula Society.


Dr. Karl Csaky, MD
Credentialing Committee Chair

Member News

Member Dues
Please login to the left and pay your member dues.

PARIS - 2015
Maculart meeting website is:

Retina In Progress
June 11-13, 2015
Florence, Italy

Information and registration at:

Congress Macula of Paris, January 9th 2015 in Paris

Dr. Jerry A. Shields Macula Society Past President to receive AAO's highest honor

Congratulations to Dr. Jerry A. Shields, Director of the Wills Eye Oncology Service and Professor of Ophthalmology at Thomas Jefferson University, who will be receiving The American Academy of Ophthalmology's most prestigious honor - The Laureate Award. Dr. Shields is this year's recipient for his exceptional contributions to the betterment of eye care and his lifetime body of investigative contributions, scientific and professional leadership.