About the Macula Society

Founded in 1977, the Macula Society is a forum for new research in retinal vascular and macular diseases. Membership is by application, with acceptance criteria including extensive contribution to retinal literature. The Macula Society recognizes outstanding achievement by its members and others through awards and lectures, and holds an annual meeting open to members, their guests, co-authors, and supporting company representatives.

Nominations Are Now Being Accepted for Macula Society 2022 Awards

Click here to submit your nominations for the 2022 Macula Society Awards.  A full description of all Awards, as well as past recipients, can be found here.

Key Dates!

Here are some critical dates for the latter part of this year and early next year as we prepare for our 45th Annual Meeting in Berlin, Germany.  Continue to check back for more information as these dates get closer:
  • Macula Society Membership ApplicationOpens Sept 13, 2021-Deadline Nov 19, 2021 11.59pm EST
  • 45th Annual Meeting (Berlin, Germany): Registration Opens Dec 15th, 2021
  • 2022 Award NominationsOpens Nov 1, 2021 - Deadline Jan 4, 2022
  • 2022 Abstract SubmissionsOpens Dec 15, 2021 - Deadline Feb 10, 2022
  • 2022 Macula Society Research Grant ApplicationsOpens Jan 5, 2022

The Macula Society
45th Annual Anniversary Meeting
Hotel Block Information

Ritz Carlton Berlin

The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin

Start Date:
2022 Jun 6, Mon
End Date: 2022 Jun 13, Mon
Last Day to Book: 2022 May 9, Mon

Macula Society Members: Login now to get your member rate!


Please note:

Our email address has changed!  Please use 


for all future communications!

Member Login

Mark W. Johnson, MD
Executive Secretary and Founder:
Lawrence J. Singerman, MD
Glenn J. Jaffe, MD
Daniel F. Martin, MD
SriniVas Sadda, MD
Committee Chairs
Joan W. Miller, MD
Adrienne W. Scott, MD
Dean Eliott, MD
Endowment Committee: 
Paul Sternberg, Jr.
Meeting Planning:
Julia A. Haller, MD
Judy E.Kim, MD
Anita Agarwal, MD
Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD
Richard F. Spaide, MD
International Membership:
Robin H. Guymer, AM, MBBS, PhD
Young Member Representative:
Nadia K. Waheed, MD
Past Presidents
Arnall Patz, MD
J. Donald M. Gass, MD
Morton F. Goldberg, MD
Robert C. Watzke, MD
Stephen J. Ryan, MD
John G. Clarkson, MD
David H. Orth, MD
Alexander J. Brucker, MD
Lee M. Jampol, MD
Thomas M. Aaberg, MD
Travis A. Meredith, MD
Kurt A. Gitter, MD
William F. Mieler, MD
Daniel Finkelstein, MD
Lawrence A. Yannuzzi, MD
Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD
Jerry A. Shields, MD
Michael L. Klein, MD
Emily Y. Chew, MD
Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD
Neil M. Bressler, MD
Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD
M. Gilbert Grand, MD
Andrew P. Schachat, MD
James C. Folk, MD
H. Richard McDonald, MD
Joan W. Miller, MD
Immediate Past President
Carol L. Shields, MD
Member News

The Eighty-Fourth Annual George E. de Schweinitz Memorial

Virtual Lecture- December 2nd, 2021

“Evolution of Treatment for Diabetic Retinopathy 1966 – 2021: A JourneyThrough Medical History”

Register to Attend:

Fifty years ago, diabetic retinopathy was a blinding disease with no therapy ofdocumented benefit. Improved medical and ophthalmic interventions havemade it possible for most persons with diabetic retinopathy to maintain goodvisual acuity. This talk, a journey through medical and ophthalmic history, will review the evolution of those treatments which have improved the visualprognosis for diabetic patients who have access to timely and appropriate care.

Stuart L. Fine, MD
Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Univ. of Colorado Schoolof Medicine
Emeritus Professor of Ophthalmology, Univ. of PennsylvaniaSchool of Medicine

Register to Attend The George E. de Schweinitz Memorial Virtual Lecture

This lecture is free to attend and begins at 8:00 p.m.

Questions? Email Tina Williams at CWilliams@collegeofphysicians.org

Nominations Being Accepted: Roger H Johnson Macular Degeneration Award

More information available at https://ophthalmology.washington.edu/about-uw-ophthalmology/roger-h-johnston-award

International Society for Genetic Eye Diseases & Retinoblastoma

Dear colleagues and friends,

I have the privilege to announce the 22nd ISGEDR Meeting, which will be held hybrid (virtual and in person) from September 2nd to 4th 2021 in Lausanne, Switzerland, jointly with the European Retinoblastoma Group (EURbG), the Société de Génétique Ophtalmologique Francophone (SGOF), and the European Reference Network dedicated to Rare Eye Diseases (ERN-EYE). The scientific program promises to be outstanding, covering the hotest topics in ocular genetics and retinoblastoma. This will include three named lectures, the Jules-François Lecture by Jean Bennett and Albert Maguire, the Franceschetti Medal and Lecture by Ian MacDonald and the Ellsworth Lecture by David Abramson. Looking forward to meeting you soon.
- Francis Munier President of ISGEDR
Download the Informational Flyer Here

The DRCR Retina Network is planning an exciting new Phase III clinical trial to prevent visual acuity loss due to radiation retinopathy (RR). Eligible participants will be randomized to receive either repeated injections of anti-VEGF, long-active steroid, or observation following treatment of choroidal melanoma with I-125 plaque brachytherapy. Enrollment is planned for early 2022, with a recruitment goal of 600 participants treated Q3 months for three years. This study has the chance to define standard of care for the treatment of choroidal melanoma and radiation retinopathy, as well as significantly advance our understanding of how radiation retinopathy develops. With industry support, and enthusiasm from the ocular oncology community, this study has become a high priority for the Network.

Any interested physicians or clinical sites should contact drcrnet@jaeb.org to learn more about joining the Network.

Next DRCR Retina Network Chair Position

The DRCR Retina Network Chair is responsible for the scientific direction of the NIH funded DRCR Retina Network.  The term is for 5 years, with an opportunity to re-apply. The current term concludes December 31, 2022.  The next Network Chair term will begin January 1, 2022 as Chair-Elect and then from January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2027 as Network Chair.  At least 40%, and potentially up to 50% of dedicated effort (approximately 16 to 20 business hours per week, Monday through Friday) would be needed for the Chair position beginning January 2023. 

The application process will begin in July 2021 and selection ideally will be finalized by the end of September 2021 to permit adequate time for the individual to adjust schedules accordingly.  However, we wanted to provide this update for individuals who may want to begin to consider applying for this opportunity.  More information on the Network Chair’s responsibilities and the Network’s organizational structure can be found on the public website DRCR.net (www.drcr.net) after clicking on “Information about the Network” and then clicking on “DRCR Retina Network Policies, Protocols, & Idea Submission Form” and then clicking on “DRCR Retina Network Policies.” 

The mission of the DRCR Retina Network is to conduct high quality, collaborative clinical research that improves vision and quality of life for people with retinal diseases. The DRCR Retina Network supports the identification, design, implementation, and reporting of multicenter clinical research initiatives focused on retinal disorders. Principal emphasis is placed on clinical trials, but large, highly relevant epidemiologic studies and other clinically relevant retina research may be supported as well.

43rd Annual Macula Society Scientific Program and photos

Members may login and view the videos from the 43rd Annual Meeting

Conference Management Software by X-CD Technologies Inc.